'We won’t take revenge', says Shehbaz Sharif after Imran's ouster

'We won’t take revenge', says Shehbaz Sharif after Imran's ouster

Islamabad (Web Desk): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday said that the new government would not take revenge against political opponents, but the law would take its course.

Addressing the National Assembly after the ouster of Prime Minister Imran Khan though a no-confidence motion, the PML-N leader vowed to transform the country according to the vision of the founder of Pakistan Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, ensuring rule of law and justice in the society.

“We will not be revengeful. We will not do injustice to anyone. We will not put the innocent people in jails, but the law will take its course,” he said.

Shehbaz said that there would be no interference in dispensation of justice as the allied parties had great respect for the judiciary.

He recalled that opposition leaders including PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif faced jails, adding that he did not want to be stuck up in the bitterness of past and rather “we want to move forward and make Pakistan a great nation, forgetting the past bitterness.

The PML-N leader also expressed resolve to mitigate sufferings of the common man and work for welfare of downtrodden segments of the society.

He praised allied parties for exhibiting great unity and making the no-trust motion successful against Imran Khan.

Addressing the House, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari said democracy is the best revenge.

The PPP chief said that he has learned a lot during the last four years of political struggle.

“I would like to give a message to the youth that nothing is impossible,” Bilawal asserted.

Jamiat Ulema-Islam (JUI-F) leader Maulana Asad Mahmood congratulated all the democratic forces that carried out struggle for supremacy of the constitution.

“We have achieved our objective through a democratic struggle,” said.

The JUI-F leader expressed commitment that the allied parties will continue to have unity in days ahead as well and make Pakistan an Islamic welfare state.

In his speech, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui said this change should not be confined to merely change of faces, but it should bring about real change in the lives of people. He said democracy is the only way to progress.

Speaking in the session, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) leader Khalid Magsi said Shehbaz Sharif is a hard-working person and he would hopefully perform better.

“We will not take revenge from anyone, but serve the nation in the real sense,” he said.

Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) Chief Sardar Akhtar Mengal said that the credit for today’s success goes to all the workers of the allied parties. He emphasized on ensuring supremacy of the constitution.

MNA Mohsin Dawar said terrorism is one of the biggest challenges, which needs to be addressed through a clear strategy. He said there should be zero tolerance against militancy.

In his remarks, Awami National Party (ANP) leader Amir Haider Hoti said the allied parties not only made the no-confidence motion a success but also strengthened democracy.

Lone PTI MNA present in the house, Ali Muhammad Khan in his speech said that Imran Khan faced defeat but not accepted slavery. He said Imran Khan was targeted because he stood for independent foreign policy.

He expressed hope that Imran Khan would again become prime minister with the support of people.

Speaking in the session, Jamhoori Watan Party (JWP) leader Shahzain Bugti expressed hope that the backward areas will be given priority for development in the next setup. He hoped that the next government would perform better than the last one.

MNA Aslam Bhotani expressed confidence that the next government would not forget Balochistan and development work could be carried out there at a fast pace, particularly in the areas where CPEC is being implemented.

MNA Ali Nawaz Shah said we all together have to work for progress and prosperity of the country.

Earlier, the National Assembly passed the no-confidence resolution against PM Imran Khan as 174 MNAs out of 342-member house recorded their votes in favour of the no-trust motion against him.

The session was chaired by PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq, a member of the panel of chairs, after speaker Asad Qasier resigned from his office.

Asad Qaiser had earlier adjourned the crucial National Assembly session, which commenced at 10.30am on Saturday, multiple times without holding the voting. The all-important session of the lower house of parliament was summoned on Supreme Court’s directives to hold voting on no-confidence motion against PM Imran.