PTI nominates Qasim Suri for NA deputy speaker post

PTI nominates Qasim Suri for NA deputy speaker post

Islamabad (Staff Report): The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) on Monday nominated Balochistan MNA Qasim Suri as its nominee for the post of National Assembly deputy speaker.

The PTI's nominee for post of NA speaker, Asad Qaiser, announced Suri's nomination at a press conference in Islamabad.

Speaking to reporters outside Imran Khan’s Bani Gala residence, Suri thanked the PTI chairman for nominating him. “Imran is determined to removing the deprivation of the people of Balochistan. We will bring the province into the national mainstream.”

Suri emphasised that Imran Khan and the PTI team was focused on resolving Balochistan’s issues.

The newly elected MNAs took oath at the inaugural session of the 15th National Assembly held at Parliament House.

The outgoing Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to the newly elected members.

The leaders of mainstream political parties including PTI chairman Imran Khan, PPP's chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and co-chairman Asif Zardari, PML-N’s president Shehbaz Sharif, Akhtar Mengal of BNP-M were among the newly elected MNAs who took oath.

PPP's Bilawal, who has been elected to the National Assembly for the first time, shook hand with Imran as the MNA-elects took their seats.

Elections for Speaker and Deputy Speaker of National Assembly will be held on August 15.

According to schedule issued by National Assembly Secretariat, nomination papers for Speaker and Deputy Speaker could be submitted in the office of Secretary National Assembly till August 14.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Asad Qaiser while the joint opposition comprising eleven political parties, fielded Syed Khursheed Shah for the slot of Speaker.

PTI’s tally has reached 158 members in the National Assembly after notification on reserved seats by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has total 82 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) 53, Mutahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) 15, Mutahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) 7, Pakistan Muslim League Quaid (PML-Q) 5, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 5 and Balochistan National Party-M (BNP-M) four in the National Assembly.