Unofficial results: PTI emerges as majority party in Cantonment board polls

Unofficial results: PTI emerges as majority party in Cantonment board polls

Islamabad (Web Desk): The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) has emerged as the largest party in Cantonment Boards' elections across the country held on September 12.

According to the unofficial preliminary results, PTI won 63 seats closely followed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) which won 59.

The independent candidates bagged 52 seats.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has managed to win 17 seats and Mutahidda Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) got 10 seats and Awami National Party (ANP) bagged 2 aeats.

Jamat-e-Islami (JI) won 7 seats while Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) secured 2 seats.

Province wise, PTI won 18 seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), followed by 28 in Punjab, 14 in Sindh and three in Balochistan. PML-N bagged 51 seats in Punjab, 5 in KP, 3 in Sindh and none in Balochistan.

PPP won 14 seats in Sindh, 3 in KP, whereas it could not win any seat form Punjab and Balochistan.

Independent candidates scored big in Punjab, bagging 32 seats. They secured nine in KP, seven in Sindh and four in Balochistan. MQM won all of its 10 seats in Sindh, whereas JI won 5 in Sindh and 2 in Punjab. ANP won 2 seats in KP, whereas BAP won 2 in Balochistan.

As per the details, out of the total 219 wards across 42 cantonment boards, 7 candidates were already elected unopposed. Therefore, the polls were held for 212 seats.

As many as 684 independent candidates from across the country were in the run while 876 candidates from political parties were contesting the election.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), over 5,000 polling booths were set up in 1,644 polling stations. A total of 2,197,441 voters, including 1,154,551 men and 1,043,190 women, are registered in all cantonment boards.

As per the instructions issued by the ECP, the use of mobile phones was banned inside the polling station during the election process. This rule also applied to polling agents. However, presiding officers and assisting presiding officers were exempted.