PTI’s Umar Amin Gandapur wins mayoral seat of DIK

PTI’s Umar Amin Gandapur wins mayoral seat of DIK

Peshawar (Staff Report/Agencies): PTI candidate Umar Amin Gandapur won Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Dera Ismail Khan (DIK) mayoral seat in the first phase of local government (LG) re-polling elections.

The first phase of local body elections in Khyber Pakh­tunkhwa was completed on Sunday as re-polling was carried out at several polling stations in 19 tehsils for the seats of mayor/chairman while fresh polling was held for Dera City Council’s mayoral slot.

According to the unofficial and unverified results, Gandapur defeated JUI-F Mohammad Kafeel Ahmed with a heavy margin of more than 24,000 votes.

Umar Amin secured 63,753 votes, while JUI-F candidate Mohammad Kafeel Ahmed managed to get 38,891 votes.

Peshawar Mayor was won by JUI-F, while PTI won in Nowshehra, Jahangera, Banda Daud Shah, Domail and Dera Ismail Khan Tehsil Council elections.

Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja has praised the polling staff and security personnel for managing to maintain peace during the electoral exercise in different districts of the province, according to a statement.

Raja said that polling was held peacefully in all sensitive areas with the support of law enforcement agencies.