PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by one run in opening match

PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by one run in opening match

Multan (Web Desk/Agencies ): Defending champions Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans by one run in the opening match of Pakistan Super League's (PSL) 8th edition, despite a handsome knock of 75 by host team captain Muhammad Rizwan before the home crowd on Monday night.

Multan Sultans opted to bowl first after winning the toss and Qalandars put on a good total of 175, thanks to a marvellous fifty (66) by Fakhar Zaman.

However, Multan Sultans fell a single run short of the target set by Qalandars and could score 174 after losing six wickets in 20 overs.

Fakhar Zaman and Tahir Baig opened the innings for Lahore Qalandars, however, Baig lost his wickets at individual score of 32 when the total score reached 61.

Zaman demonstrated good stroke play and scored 66, tournament’s first 50 that won him the game for his side and the player of the match award.

Osama Mir and Ehsanullah claimed two wickets each while Shah Nawaz Dahani and Aqeel Hussain finished with one wicket each.

Chasing a target of 176, opener Muhammad Rizwan and Shan Masood batted confidently and took the score to 100, the point where Multan Sultans suffered their first shock with dismissal of Shan.

Rizwan, however, continued to bat and kept the hope of victory alive for Multan Sultans before the home crowd.

However, at the individual score of 75, he was bowled by the rival team’s captain Shaheen Shah Afridi. From then on, Qalandars’ bowlers did not let any Multan batsman settle and sent them back to the pavillion one by one in shorter intervals till the completion of allotted 20 overs.

Other significant contributors from Multan included David Miller who scored 25 and Pollard contributed 20.
Shaheen Afridi, Hussain Talat, Zaman Khan and Harif Rauf claimed one wicket each.


Lahore Qalandars – Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Shaheen Shah Afridi (all Platinum), Dawid Wiese (Namibia), Hussain Talat, Haris Rauf (all Diamond), Abdullah Shafique, Liam Dawson (England), Sikander Raza (Zimbabwe) (all Gold), Ahmad Daniyal, Dilbar Hussain, Harry Brook (England), Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig (all Silver), Shawaiz Irfan, Zaman Khan (both Emerging). Jalat Khan and Jordan Cox (England) (both Supplementary)

Multan Sultans – David Miller (South Africa), Josh Little (Ireland), Mohammad Rizwan (all Platinum), Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Shan Masood (all Diamond), Akeal Hosein (West Indies), Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David (Australia) (all Gold), Anwar Ali, Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan (both Silver), Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah (both Emerging). Adil Rashid (England) and Arafat Minhas (Supplementary).