T20 World Cup: England beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

T20 World Cup: England beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

Melbourne (Web Desk): England defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets in the T20 World Cup final in Melbourne Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

England won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Babar-led squad could only manage to score meager 137 runs by losing eight wickets, around 30 scores short of prediction. Green shirts made 29 runs at the loss of one wicket in the first five overs.

Skipper Babar Azam was then dismissed with 32 off 28 and middle order Shan Masood and Iftikhar attempted to gain momentum.

Shaheen Shah Afridi was forced to abort his third over — the 15th of the innings after an awkward landing on his right knee while taking a catch to dismiss Harry Brook.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), 2 Mohammad Rizwan, 3 Mohammad Haris, 4 Shan Masood, 5 Iftikhar Ahmed, 6 Mohammad Nawaz, 7 Shadab Khan, 8 Mohammad Wasim, 9 Naseem Shah, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Shaheen Shah Afridi.

England: 1 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 2 Alex Hales, 3 Phil Salt, 4 Ben Stokes, 5 Harry Brook, 6 Liam Livingstone, 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Sam Curran, 9 Chris Woakes, 10 Chris Jordan, 11 Adil Rashid.