Speaker lifts ban on entry of seven MNAs in National Assembly

Speaker lifts ban on entry of seven MNAs in National Assembly

Islamabad (Web Desk): Speaker of National Assembly (NA) Asad Qaiser on Thursday lifted a ban on seven MNAs who were barred from entering the House over ‘disorderly’ conduct.

As per the details, the NA secretariat has informed the lawmakers and security staff about the entry ban having been lifted.

Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaisar on Wednesday barred entry of seven lawmakers into the Parliament House over ‘grossly disorderly’ conduct.

According to the notification issued by the NA speaker, the seven members banned from entering the House include Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ali Nawaz Awan, Abdul Majeed Khan, and Fahim Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sheikh Rohail Asghar, Ali Gohar Khan and Chaudhry Hamid Hameed and Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Agha Rafiullah.

On Tuesday, the National Assembly turned into a battleground as the opposition and treasury members scuffled with each other and threw budget documents and books when the latter continued their noisy protest to disrupt Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif's budget speech for a second consecutive day.

The Speaker suspended the proceedings of the House three times when the treasury members, led by some of the senior ministers who had come directly to the House after attending the weekly cabinet meeting, refused to pay heed to his directives to stay calm and kept on sloganeering, whistling and desk-thumping.