ECP allows Yusuf Raza Gilani to contest Senate elections

ECP allows Yusuf Raza Gilani to contest Senate elections

Islamabad (Web Desk): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday accepted the nomination papers of Yusuf Raza Gilani, the Pakistan Democratic Movement’s (PDM) joint candidate for Senate seat from Islamabad.

On Wednesday, the ECP reserved its order on the nomination papers of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader as it started the scrutiny process of the nomination papers filed by 179 candidates, who wish to contest the upcoming Senate elections.

Returning officer (RO) Zafar Iqbal announced the reserved verdict today.

As per the ruling, the candidate was convicted under Article 63(1)(g) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and “a period of five years has elapsed since his conviction”, so the candidate “stands qualified” for contesting election to the Senate from Federal Capital.

“All the cases against the candidate are pending adjudication and in the absence of conviction, the candidate cannot be barred from contesting the election,” the order noted.

It further added that while keeping these facts in view, the nomination papers of Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani are hereby accepted.

On Feb 16, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Fareed Rehman had challenged the nomination papers of Yusuf Raza Gilani, the Pakistan Democratic Movement’s (PDM) candidate for Senate elections from Islamabad.

The petitioner claimed that the former premier did not mention in his nomination papers that he was convicted by the Supreme Court (SC).

He added that the PDM candidate does not meet standards of Article 62 of the Constitution of Pakistan.

The PTI leader has appealed that the former prime minister’s nomination papers be rejected.

Former prime minister and Pakistan Peoples Party leader Yousaf Raza Gillani has been nominated as the joint candidate of the PDM from Islamabad.

Gilani’s candidature was proposed by former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and was seconded by former PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

Meanwhile, the list of contesting candidates is expected to be published on February 16.

The scrutiny of nomination papers started on February 17 and will be concluded on February 18 (Thursday).

The candidates can file appeals against acceptance or rejection of nomination papers on February 19 and 20, whereas, the dates for disposing of these appeals are February 22 and 23.

The revised list of candidates will be published on February 24. The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers on 25th of this month.

The polling will be held on March 3 at the parliament house Islamabad and the four provincial assemblies to elect 48 senators, including 12 from Khyber-Pakhtunkhawa (KP), 12 from Balochistan, 11 from Punjab, 11 from Sindh and 2 from Islamabad.