5-member committee formed to probe Karachi Police Office attack

5-member committee formed to probe Karachi Police Office attack

Karachi (Staff Report/Agencies): Sindh Police chief Ghulam Nabi on Saturday constituted a five-member committee to probe into the terrorist attack on the office of the Karachi police chief.

“A committee with the following composition is hereby constituted to enquire into the incident of attack on Karachi Police Office and supervise the investigations of the case,” read a statement issued by the Sindh IGP office.

Sindh Counter Terrorism Department (CTD) Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIGP) Zulfiqar Ali Larik will head the committee while other members of the body include Karachi South Zone DIGP Irfan Ali Baloch, Crime Investigation Agency DIGP Muhammad Karim Khan, Karachi CTD Operations Senior Superintendent of Police Tariq Nawaz and Karachi CTD Investigation Incharge Raja Umer Khitab.

The chairman of the committee can co-opt any other member required for conducting investigations, read the statement.

All three militants were killed and four people, including two policemen and a Sindh Rangers sub-inspector, embraced martyrdom in the nerve-racking operation that lasted for nearly four hours on Friday evening.

At least 19 men, mostly police and Rangers officials, sustained injuries in the exchange of fire with militants who stormed the heavily guarded Karachi Police Office after lobbing a hand grenade at its main entrance, police and hospital officials said.

The outlawed TTP on the social media claimed responsibility for the latest ambush, which came as a grim reminder of attacks on Bannu CTD complex and Peshawar Police Lines mosque in recent months.