PML-N rejects 2018 elections results

PML-N rejects 2018 elections results

Lahore (Staff Report): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) rejected results of 2018 elections, claiming that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) failed to hold free and fair elections.

Addressing a press conference along with other leaders, PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif alleged that cases were registered against the party workers under terrorism sections.

Earlier, PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb raised objections over the counting process and alleged that the party’s agents were being forced out from the polling stations in various constituencies.

“The counting process is being carried out behind closed doors and changes are being made to Form-45,” Aurangzeb alleged while talking to media persons. ECP has yet to respond to the PML-N’s reservations over the process.

In response, the provincial election commissioner in Punjab categorically denied the allegations levelled by PML-N.

“Political leaders should refrain from levelling such baseless allegations without having any substantial proof,” the ECP official said.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, Imran Khan’s party seems all set to form the next government in the country as Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in as much as 94 seats.

The PML-N and PPP are ahead in 43 and 39 seats respectively.

A party can only form the government if it manages to clinch 172 seats in total.

In Punjab, the PML-N is currently leading the race with 135 provincial seats but PTI is closing in with 121 seats.

Meanwhile, PTI is clearly steering ahead in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa with 62 seats against Awami National Party (ANP), which currently has 10 seats, as per the results from 16% polling stations across the province.

Independent candidates are leading in 14, Muttahida Majlis Amal 10 and Grand Democratic Alliance in 08 constituencies.