Brussels (Web Desk): The European Union (EU) has ended mobile roaming charges for citizens travelling across the bloc, read a joint statement issued by three EU institutions Wednesday.

As of Thursday, June 15, roaming charges in the European Union will no longer apply, read a joint statement issued by the President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani, Prime Minister of Malta Joseph Muscat, on behalf of the Maltese Presidency of the Council of the European Union, and President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker.

"The European Union is about bringing people together and making their lives easier. The end of roaming charges is a true European success story," it stated.

Citizens who travel within the EU will now be able to call, text and connect on their mobile devices at the same price as they pay in their home countries, added the statement read.

On the whole, 47 countries will be benefit from the development, however, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco, Guernsey and Isle of Man will keep roaming charges .

Among them, Switzerland has the highest roaming charges .