Ch Pervaiz Elahi sworn in as Punjab Assembly speaker

Ch Pervaiz Elahi sworn in as Punjab Assembly speaker

Lahore (Staff Report): Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi was elected speaker of the Punjab Assembly on Thursday.

Outgoing speaker Rana Muhammad Iqbal administered the oath to the newly-elected Speaker.

Elahi secured 201 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar got 147 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had nominated Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) chief Pervaiz Elahi for the post of Punjab Assembly speaker.

Dost Muhammad Mazari has been nominated by the PTI for the slot of deputy speaker whereas PML-N has nominated Malik Muhammad Waris Kallu for the post.

On Wednesday, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) stated it will not vote for any party's candidate and will abstain from the voting process for the post of speaker and deputy speaker.

On Wednesday, the newly-elected MPAs took oath of their office during the inaugural session of Punjab Assembly.

Moreover, the Speakers of National as well as Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assemblies were also elected on Wednesday.