PM Nawaz elected ECO chairman

PM Nawaz elected ECO chairman

Islamabad: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been elected as chairman of Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) .

The 13th ECO summit has been started in Islamabad on Wednesday, with a  focus to enhance economic cooperation and regional connectivity among the member countries.   

All the ten member states including Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Iran, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan besides a special representative from China are participating in the summit.     

Most of the heads of state and government, including presidents of Turkey, Iran, Tajikistan, and Azerbaijan while Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan have already arrived in Islamabad.   

The theme of the 13th Summit is "Connectivity for Regional Prosperity", which assumes special significance in the backdrop of monumental project of China-Pakistan Economic Corridor, Radio Pakistan reported.  

The member states will focus on intra-regional and inter-regional connectivity for the regional solidarity and development of energy projects, infrastructure,   transport and trade sectors.

The summit will also adopt Islamabad Declaration and ECO Vision 2025, approved by the council of ministers, envisaging road map for enhanced economic cooperation and connectivity